Looking To Delete Your LinkedIn Account? Read This First.

want to delete a LinkedIn account? Read this first

There can be several reasons to erase your LinkedIn. Possibly, you are fed up with an abundance of notifications sent by LinkedIn, or it can be possible that you don’t find the network that efficient.

Regardless of the reason, if you want to delete a LinkedIn account, this article shows you all the necessary details about closing your LinkedIn account.

Here we will cover: 

  • Closing your LinkedIn account and its consequences.
  • How to remove a LinkedIn account: the process.
  • How to delete your LinkedIn Premium account?
  • What are the alternative options to LinkedIn’s account removal?
  • FAQs

Closing your LinkedIn account and its consequences:

Before you permanently disable your LinkedIn account but do you the consequences associated with the action? Here are the details about the matter:

Of course, you cannot access your LinkedIn profile, and it will not be visible on LinkedIn.

After deleting the account, you cannot access your account’s information and relations. You will lose all of your references on your profile.

However, as a precaution, you can download your LinkedIn data before deleting your LinkedIn account permanently.

Removing your LinkedIn account step by step

Below is the step-by-step guide that will help you in deleting your LinkedIn account. However, you can change your mind in 20 days after deleting your account.

The simplest method: the direct URL

To remove your LinkedIn account, you can go directly go to this link and remove the account. Fill in the details mentioned in the form with the appropriate reasons to delete the account, and you are done!

Delete the account Via your profile

First, open LinkedIn, and navigate to the Settings and privacy section to erase your LinkedIn profile. Here is the complete process for you:

  • First, click the “Me” button located at the top-right side of your homepage.
  • Then, go to the Settings and privacy option from the dropdown list.
  • Next, look for the Account Preferences section.
  • Now, click on the Account Management option, then click on the Change option to close the account.
  • You will find a dialog box at the screen’s bottom that you need to fill with appropriate reasons to delete your LinkedIn account. After filling in the details, click “Next.”

For your security, LinkedIn will request you to enter your password before removing the account. Enter the password and click Close account to finish the process.

Note: if you don’t want to delete the account or you have changed your mind, just click on the Back button to return and cancel the process.

How can you close your LinkedIn Premium account?

If you are using a LinkedIn Premium account, you need to cancel the subscription before removing the account. Before exploring the feature, let me tell you that this operation can be performed via the LinkedIn desktop version, not from mobile.

Here are steps to do so:

First, click on the “Me Icon” located at the top side of your homepage.

Then, go to the “Access my Premium” option and look for the “Manage Premium account.”

Under the tab, you will see the “Manage subscription” option; click on it and Cancel your subscription.

Note: Keep in mind that you should cancel LinkedIn Premium a day before the billing date. By doing so, you don’t have to pay your monthly subscription.

After canceling your LinkedIn Premium subscription, your account will convert into a basic account. To remove it, follow the steps mentioned above.

Reasons to delete your LinkedIn profile?

If you made up your mind that you don’t need the account anymore and want to remove your profile, here is the good news for you. Below we will show you some solid reasons that drive most users to close their LinkedIn profiles.

How can you merge or close duplicate accounts?

It is very much possible that you have more than one LinkedIn profile or account like many others. But do you know that you can merge those accounts and their information with your main account before deleting it? If you want to merge your LinkedIn accounts, follow the instruction mentioned on this page.

Then, you can proceed to delete your LinkedIn duplicate account by using the method explained above in this article.

Is it possible to receive fewer notifications from LinkedIn?

One of the main reasons people remove their LinkedIn account is that they quite often feel overwhelmed with too many notifications. However, not many know that they can easily change the frequency of these notifications.

To do this, you need to visit the “Settings and privacy section” and then enter the Communications tab to change the frequency.

Can I get by someone in the management of my LinkedIn account?

The decision to remove your LinkedIn account has severe consequences. Probably, you don’t find the platform that efficient for sales or prospecting. 

If that’s the case, you should take a look at these recommendations regarding prospecting on LinkedIn.

Many useful automation tools can help you to stay organized and reduce the interactions which are vital to handle your profile. In our opinion, you must try these tools and their features before closing your LinkedIn account.

Of course, you can unsubscribe from LinkedIn at any time, but valid and authentic solutions will allow you to use the network seamlessly and efficiently.

FAQs about the Post

When I remove my profile, why it still appears in the search results?

It depends on the algorithm of search engines like Google, Bing, and other search engines and how they manage their data. Your LinkedIn profile will appear in the results for some time after removal. But no need to worry as it is for a short time and soon disappears.

I deleted my LinkedIn account mistakenly, can I recover it?

If you delete your LinkedIn account by mistake or change your mind about the same, you can revive it within 20 days after removal. However, you cannot retrieve your recommendations, invitations, and subscriptions.